ICFT-UNESCO Gandhi Medal at the 51st IFFIGoa
page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,page,page-id-1027,bridge-core-2.1.8,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-title-hidden,qode_grid_1300,footer_responsive_adv,qode-theme-ver-20.5,qode-theme-bridge,disabled_footer_bottom,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.1,vc_responsive

The ICFT Prize with UNESCO Gandhi Medal awarded at the 51st International Film Festival of India, Goa (IFFI)


In 1994, UNESCO issued a commemorative medal marking the 125th anniversary of the birth of Mahatma Gandhi, India’s “Father of the Nation” and the world’s advocate of non-violence, peace and tolerance.


Each year, International Council for Film, Television and Audiovisual Communication (CICT-ICFT) appoints 5 juries who hold responsibilities for selecting a winning film from 10 pre-selected films proposed by an international film festival to receive the CICT-ICFT Prize with UNESCO Gandhi Medal. The award goes to the work that both present excellent film techniques and aesthetics and embodies UNESCO’s values, especially Tolerance, Intercultural Dialogue & Culture of Peace.


In 2021, cooperating with the 51st International Film Festival of India, Goa (IFFI) – the oldest international film festival in Asia, CICT-ICFT awarded the ICFT Prize with UNESCO Gandhi Medal to the film « 200 Meters » directed by Ameen NAYFEH at IFFI’s closing ceremony on January 24, 2021.

Ten Films Pre-selected by the 51st IFFI


ICFT International Juries

Ms Isabelle DANEL (France), Chairperson

Journalist, Author

President of the International Federation of Film Critics (FIPRESCI)

Mr Georges DUPONT (Luxembourg)

Director-General of ICFT

Member of the Luxembourg National Commission for UNESCO, representing the International Telecommunication Union (ITU) at UNESCO

Ms Jasmina BOJIC (USA)

Film Critic

Lecturer in International Relations at Stanford University; Director of the Camera As Witness (CAW) Program; Executive Director and Founder of the United Nations Association Film Festival (UNAFF)

Ms Xueyuan HUN (China)

Lecturer, Performing artist

Co-founder and Director of the Platform for Creativity and Innovation (PCI) – ICFT Youth Branch

Ms Gladys AGULHAS (South Africa)

Teacher, Dancer, Choreographer

Member of the Advisory Council of the ITI/UNESCO World Performing Arts Capital