UNESCO Fellini Medal
page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,page,page-id-1748,bridge-core-2.1.8,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-title-hidden,qode_grid_1300,footer_responsive_adv,qode-theme-ver-20.5,qode-theme-bridge,disabled_footer_bottom,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.1,vc_responsive

Fellini recto
Fellini verso

The UNESCO Fellini Medal



When Italian director Federico Fellini died in 1993, UNESCO’s Member States adopted a General Conference resolution calling for the safeguarding of the cinematographic heritage. An appeal was launched to the international community inviting governments, industry and the public to participate in a campaign to keep the seventh art alive. The Fellini Medal, unveiled at the Cannes Film Festival in May 1995, therefore had a double significance: to honor the director’s tremendous contribution to film as an art form and to commemorate the centenary of the birth of cinema (1895 – 1995).


CICT-ICFT awards its film prize with the UNESCO Fellini Medal to films that reflect the ideals of peace, tolerance, mutual understanding, intercultural dialogue… promoted by UNESCO.

UNSESCO Gandhi Medal Winners